My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Adelaide United star Flores takes out Johnny Warren Medal

Adelaide United's Argentinean midfielder Marcos Flores has taken out the prestigious Johnny Warren Medal at the Hyundai A-League 2010/11 Awards Night held in Sydney tonight.

Flores received 618 votes from his playing peers, well ahead of Brisbane Roar's duo of Thomas Broich (495 votes) and Matt McKay (432).

Central Coast Mariners Goalkeeper Matthew Ryan was presented the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award with Adelaide United striker Sergio Van Dijk collecting the Reebok Golden Boot Award courtesy of his 16 goal haul during the regular season.

After claiming the Premiers' Plate with a record breaking unbeaten streak, Brisbane Roar picked up four awards with Ange Postecoglou receiving the Coach of the Year Award, Michael Theoklitos the Goalkeeper of the Year Award, Erik Paartalu the SOLO Goal of the Year Award and the team receiving the Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red cards.

Gold Coast United Youth team captain, Steven Lustica, was named the National Youth League 2010/11 Player of the Year.

Matthew Breeze picked up the Zurich Referee of the Year award, an accolade that he last won in 2008/09.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?