As featured on NewsNow: Football news

A-LEAGUE WRAP - Week 8: Brisbane break Australian football record, Kewell scores for Victory

A-League Week 8 action saw reigning champions Brisbane Roar break an Australian record across all football codes.

The Roar eased past Perth Glory 4-0 to make it 36 matches without a loss, surpassing the 74-year record held by Eastern Suburbs of the New South Wales Rugby League, and maintaining their six-point lead at the top of the table.

Besart Berisha and Issey Nakajima-Farran scored first-half double to guide Brisbane to yet another comfortable win which has them firmly placed as title favourites for the 2011/12 season.

Elsewhere in the A-League, Adelaide United and Newcastle Jets played out a scoreless draw on Friday night prior to Central Coast Mariners' 3-1 home win over Melbourne Heart on Saturday evening.

Matt Simon edged last season's runners-up ahead on the stroke of half-time before Eli Babalj drew the Heart level just over ten minutes from time but Central Coast held their nerve to convert an 82nd minute penalty via Daniel McBreen and then wrap up proceedings with three minutes left through Patrick Zwaanswijk.

Wellington Phoenix recorded their first victory in six outings with a 2-1 result over Sydney FC at home thanks to an early goal from returning striker Paul Ifill which was added to by Tim Brown on the hour-mark. Sydney hit back in the 70th minute via Bruno Cazarine but the damage had been done as the Phoenix moved points clear of bottom-placed Gold Coast United who lost in Melbourne.

The Victory swept to a 2-0 lead by the 23rd minute on the back of two penalties - converted by Harry Kewell and then Carlos Hernandez - before Roddy Vargas was sent off. United struck back with two goals in quick succession from Dylan Macallister (penalty) and Peter Jungschlager prior to Hernandez' winner in the 79th minute which sent the Victory to third despite the fact it was just their second win of the campaign.

2011/12 A-League season scores - Week 8

Adelaide United: 0 (red card: Nigel Boogaard 64') Newcastle Jets: 0 Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide - 8,403

Central Coast Mariners: 3 (Matt Simon 45', Daniel McBreen 81' (pen), Patrick Zwaanswijk 87') Melbourne Heart: 1 (Eli Babalj 78') Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford - 7,242

Brisbane Roar: 4 (Besart Berisha 23'/45', Issey Nakajima-Farran 33'/41') Perth Glory: 0 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane - 19,339

Wellington Phoenix: 2 (Paul Ifill 7', Tim Brown 59') Sydney FC: 1 (Bruno Cazarine 70') Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Melbourne Victory: 3 (Harry Kewell 3'(pen), Carlos Hernandez 22'(pen)/79') Gold Coast United: 2 (Dylan Macallister 45'+2 (pen), Peter Jungschlager 47') AAMI Park, Melbourne - 16,522

Australia/Asia NewsA-League
Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free