My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

A-League fans pick their 2010/11 All-star team

Brisbane Roar has dominated the Hyundai A-League 2010/11 All-Star team, as voted for by thousands of fans via the Hyundai A-League website, with six players and Head Coach Ange Postecoglou named in the final selection.

Postecoglou was the overwhelming choice for coach of the side as he guided Brisbane Roar to claim the premiership, recording a 25-game unbeaten run and losing only once during the regular season.

This achievement is further reflected with the selection of Michael Theoklitos, Luke DeVere, Ivan Franjic, Matt McKay, Thomas Broich and Kosta Barbarouses in the team.

The Hyundai A-League All-Star team represents players who have put in impressive performances over the 27 weeks of football and to earned themselves a place in the final eleven.

Adelaide United continued their tradition of producing players deserving of recognition with leading goal scorer Sergio Van Dijk, playmaker Marcos Flores and defender Cassio selected in the 2010/11 team.

Central Coast Mariners defender Joshua Rose and Melbourne Victory striker Robbie Kruse completed the selection.

Outstanding performances by Brisbane Roar captain McKay and talismanic Victory striker Kruse earned them selection in the Qantas Socceroos squad for the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2011 squad where both featured prominently during the tournament.

Except for DeVere, who was signed by K-League side Gyeongnam FC in January, all the players in the Hyundai A-League 2010/11 All-Star team featured in the Hyundai A-League 2011 Finals Series.

Brisbane Roar will be looking to finish their amazingly successful season by claiming the Premiership/Championship double when they face Central Coast Mariners in this weekend's Hyundai A-League 2011 Grand Final at Suncorp Stadium.

Hyundai A-League 2010/11 All-Stars (4-3-3):

Goalkeeper Michael Theoklitos (Brisbane Roar)

Defenders Luke DeVere (Brisbane Roar) Joshua Rose (Central Coast Mariners) Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar) Cassio (Adelaide United)

MidfieldersMatt McKay (Brisbane Roar) Marcos Flores (Adelaide United) Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar)

Attackers Sergio Van Dijk (Adelaide United) Robbie Kruse (Melbourne Victory) Kosta Barbarouses (Brisbane Roar)

CoachAnge Postecoglou (Brisbane Roar)

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?