Real Madrid History

Like Real Madrid? Share the love

Los Blancos (The Whites)
Carlo Ancelotti
Estadio Santiago Bernabéu

Real Madrid Club de Fútbol, commonly known as Real Madrid, or simply as Real, is a professional football club based in Madrid, Spain.

The club was founded in 1902 under the moniker "Madrid Football Club". The name was given to the club by King Alfonso XIII in 1920, together with the royal crown in the emblem ("Real" means "royal" in Spanish). Unlike most European football clubs, Real Madrid's members (socios) have owned and operated the club since its inception.
Santiago Bernabéu Stadium in downtown Madrid has been the home ground of the club since 1947.

Real is widely regarded as the world's richest football club in terms of revenue, and also the most valuable sports team, with an annual turnover of €513 million.
It is one of three clubs to have never been relegated from the top tier of Spanish football, along with Athletic Bilbao and Barcelona.

The club established itself as a major force in both Spanish and European football during the 1950s. Domestically, Real Madrid has won a record 32 La Liga titles, 19 Copas del Rey, 9 Supercopas de España, 1 Copa Eva Duarte and 1 Copa de la Liga. Internationally it has won a record nine European Cup/UEFA Champions League titles and a joint record three Intercontinental Cups, as well as two UEFA Cups, and one UEFA Super Cup.


Visit Real Madrid live for everything about Cristiano Ronaldo.