North Queensland Fury v Perth Glory preview

A full round of A-League action returns this weekend following last week’s FIFA international break.

A full round of A-League action returns this weekend following last week’s FIFA international break.

Tomorrow night sees 10th placed North Queensland hosting the out of form Perth Glory in a match which sees both clubs coming off a tumultuous week.

Fury coach Franz Straka will enjoy a reprieve after originally being suspended for a week following an altercation in the Week 9 loss to Central Coast Mariners whilst his assistant Stuart McLaren will be watching from the stands for his involvement.

In the Glory camp, ex-Fury coach Ian Ferguson steps into the head coaches role after Dave Mitchell decided to step down on Tuesday. This indicates that there could be some fire during proceedings after Ferguson left Townsville on less than amicable terms in the off-season.

A big shame is that another former Fury figure, Robbie Fowler, will not be playing as he is yet to return from a trip back to the UK.

Fury captain Ufuk Talay returns from suspension with Dyron Daal out to serve a one-match ban but apart from that, the home team’s line-up will remain vastly unchanged as the strive to continue their good head-to-head form against the Glory which currently yields two wins and two draws from four encounters.

Perth will be hoping they do not set a new club record of four consecutive losses whilst the Fury will want to snap a two-game losing streak of their own.

Verdict: 1-1 draw

North Queensland Fury v Perth Glory
Date: Friday, 15 October 2010
Venue: Dairy Farmers Stadium, Townsville
Local kick-off: 7.30pm AEST (8.30pm AEDT)
Head-to-Head: All matches (played 4): North Queensland Fury wins 2, Perth Glory wins 0 (2 draws)
Referee: Gerard Parsons

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1, FS1 HD & Sky Sports 1 (NZ). Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is Zinc 100.7 (Townsville) and 882 6PR (Perth). To purchase tickets visit

North Queensland Fury squad: 1. Justin PASFIELD (gk), 2. Jack HINGERT, 3. Brad McDONALD, 4. Eric AKOTO, 5. Mark HUGHES, 6. , Ufuk TALAY (c), 7. Gareth EDDS, 9. Eugene SSEPPUYA, 11. David WILLIAMS, 13. Andre KILIAN, 14. Chris GROSSMAN, 15. Chris PAYNE, 16. Simon STOREY, 17. Osama MALIK, 18. Brett STUDMAN, 19. Isaka CERNAK, 21. Jason SPAGNUOLO, 28. Sebastian USAI (gk) *three to be omitted*
In: Brett STUDMAN (promoted), Jason SPAGNUOLO (promoted) , Ufuk TALAY (returns from suspension)
Out: Dyron DAAL (suspended – 1 week)
Unavailable: Adam CASEY (calf – 1 week), Matthew HAM (knee – 3 weeks)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Tando VELAPHI, 3. Jamie COYNE, 4. Andy TODD, 5. Jamie HARNWELL, 7. Jacob BURNS (C), 10. Michael BAIRD, 11. Branko JELIC, 12.Scott NEVILLE, 14. Steven McGARRY, 16. Adriano PELLEGRINO, 17. Todd HOWARTH, 19. Naum SEKULOVSKI, 20. Aleks VRTESKI, 21. Mile STERJOVSKI, 22. Anthony SKORICH, 25. Ryan PEARSON *one to be omitted*
In: Jamie Coyne (returns from suspension)
Out: Robbie FOWLER (overseas)
Unavailable: Chris COYNE (on loan -6 weeks), Robbie FOWLER, Tommy AMPHLETT (Hamstring – 2 weeks)