Central Coast Mariners net late winner over North Queensland Fury

North Queensland Fury were cruelled by a late Central Coast Mariners winner at a cold and rainy Gosford Stadium tonight.

Simon Storey gave the Fury the lead in the 12th minute before Mariners crowd favourite Matt Simon answered two minutes after the break as the rain tumbled.

Argentine import Patricio Perez marked his Bluetongue Stadium debut with a goal from the penalty spot just before the hour-mark for the Mariners.

With the score at 2-1, Fury defender Mark Hughes bagged one for his side to pull it back to a level ball game and it seemed destined for a draw before striker Dyron Daal received his second yellow and was sent off.

Things looked tough for the Mariners despite their man advantage but they pulled through when Dutch defender Patrick Zwaanswijk broke the heart of the Fury’s rage with a late headed goal to snatch all three points in front of a hardy and deserving crowd.

The win pushed the Mariners to second on the A-League table whilst the North Queenslanders remained one off the bottom ahead of next weekend’s international break.

A-League Week 9
Central Coast Mariners: 3 (Matt Simon 47’, Patricio Perez (p) 57’, Patrick Zwaanswijk 90+2’)
North Queensland Fury: 2 (Simon Storey 12’, Mark Hughes 78’)
Venue: Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford
Crowd: approx. 6,000
Referee: Kurt Ams
Yellow cards: CCM - Daniel McBreen 87’
NQF - Eric Akoto 26’, Dyron Daal 45’, 80’, Gareth Edds 85’
Red Card: NQF - Dyron Daal 80’

Starting Line-Ups

Mathew Ryan (gk), Daniel McBreen, Joshua Rose (Porter 59’), Pedj Bojic, Patrick Zwaanswijk, Rostyn Griffiths, Patricio Perez (90+4’), Oliver Bozanic, Michael McGlinchey, Alex Wilkinson, Matt Simon (Kwasnik 80’)

Subs - Paul Henderson (gk), Brad Porter (59’), John Hutchinson (90+4’), Adam Kwasnik (80’)

Justin Pasfield (gk), Jack Hingert (McDonald 70’), Eric Akoto (Studman 54’), Mark Hughes, Gareth Edds, Eugene Sseppuya (Payne 59’), Dyron Daal, David Williams, Chris Grossman, Simon Storey, Isaka Cernak

Subs - Sebastian Usai (gk), Brad McDonald (70’), Chris Payne (59’), Brett Studman (54’)