WORLD CUP: Portugal and Brazil in bore draw

Both Brazil and Portugal played a virtual practice game in a disappointing scoreless draw in Durban

Both Brazil and Portugal played a virtual practice game in a disappointing scoreless draw in Durban

POR: 0
BRA: 0

Venue: Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban

Crowd: 62,712

Officials Referee: Benito Archundia (Mexico)
Assistants: Hector Vergara (Can) & Marwin Torrentera (Mex)
Fourth officials: Paul O'Leary (New Zealand)

Yellow cards: POR - Duda, Tiago, Pepe BRA - Juan, Melo, Fabiano

Red cards: none


Two of the more attractive footballing side’s at the World Cup played out a tedious goalless draw in what was played at a practice game pace. With both Brazil and Portugal virtually assured of a last 16 place, unless there was an unlikely combination of results elsewhere, you expected both teams to play with more freedom.

As it turned out the name of the game was to remain undefeated and in Portugal’s case they have extended their unbeaten sequence to 18 games with 19 clean sheets in 23.

Brazil were the more positive of the two but created few chances against the massed ranks of the Portuguese defence. Nilmar came closest but was denied by a fine save from keeper Carvalho Eduardo.

Perhaps Portugal were minded the last time they tasted defeat was 6-2 against Brazil in November 2008 and were determined that scoreline would not be repeated.

Ronaldo was Portugal’s main attacking threat in a team designed to defend rather than provide a feast of flowing football. But even the Real Madrid star was limited to optimistic long range efforts.

With both side’s having an eye on the next round honours were even as Brazil took top spot in Group G and Portugal preserved their 100% clean-sheet record in the tournament.

Starting Line-Ups


1. Carvalho Eduardo
21. Miguel Ricardo Costa
6. Ricardo Carvalho
2. Eduardo Bruno Alves
5. Sergio Duda (Simao, 54)
19. Cardoso Tiago
15. Kleper Pepe (Mendes, 64)
16. Jose Raul Meireles (Veloso, 84)
10. Miguel Danny
7. Cristiano Ronaldo
23. Alexandre Fabio Coentrao


12. Antonio Beto (GK)
3. Paulo Ferreira
4. Jorge Rolando
8. Pedro Mendes
9. Da Silva Liedson
11. Sabrosa Simao
13. Luis Miguel
14. Miguel Veloso
18. Miguel Hugo Almeida
22. Daniel Fernandes (GK)


1. Soares Julio Cesar
2. Sisenando Maicon
3. Ferreira Lucio
4. Silveira Juan
6. Fernandes Michel Bastos
13. da Silva Dani Alves
8. Gilberto Silva
5. De Carvalho Felipe Melo (Josue, 44)
21. Honorato da Silva Nilmar
19. Cesar Julio Baptista (Ramires, 82)
9. Clemente Luis Fabiano (Grafite, 85)


12. Heurelho Gomes (GK)
11. De Souza Robinho
14. Anderson Luisao
15. Emiliano Thiago Silva
16. Da Silva Gilberto
17. Anunciado Josue
18. Nascimento Ramires
20. Jose Kleberson
23. Libano Batista Grafite
22. Alexander Doni (GK)

Have your say