My tribe

WORLD CUP: Holland keep unbeaten record in Group E

Holland made it three wins out of three with a hard fought 2-1 win over Cameroon who, with this result, end the tournament bottom of Group E. Cameroon: 1 Holland: 2

Venue: Green Point Stadium, Cape Town Crowd: 63,093 Officials Referee: Pablo Pozo (Chile) Assistants: Patricio Basualto and Francisco Mondria (both Chile) Fourth official: Khalil Al Ghamdi (Saudi Arabia) Yellow cards:CAM - N'Koulou, M'bia HOL - Kuyt, Van Bronckhorst, Van der Vaart

Red cards: none MATCH REPORT Cameroon have lost all three of their group games and tonight's defeat to Holland was slightly harsh, but it is an ominous sign that the Dutch have won three games so far without really hitting their stride.

Apart from the result the other plus for the Oranje was the form of Arjen Robben who looked impressive in his 17 minute cameo as a substitute.

Klaas-Jan Huntelaar's late winner helped the Netherlands maintain their 100% record at the 2010 World Cup and set up a clash with Slovakia in Round Two.

Holland took the lead in the first half after gradually building up a head of steam. Robin van Persie and Rafael van der Vaart exchanged passes ending with the Arsenal striker firing home from 12 yards.

Cameroon grabbed a leveller from the penalty spot after Van der Vaart was adjudged to have handled Geremi Njitap's free kick. Samuel Eto'o went for power and slammed the ball past Maarten Stekelenburg.

Then just as it seemed the Indomitable Lions would hang on for their first point of the tournament the Netherlands grabbed the winner. Robben's shot rebounded off the post and Huntelaar was alert to fire into an empty net and extend the Oranje unbeaten sequence to 22 games. Starting Line-Ups


16. Souleymanou Hamidou 8. Geremi Njitap 19. Stephane M'bia Etoundi 3. Nicolas N'Koulou (R Song, 73) 2. Benoit Assou-Ekotto 11. Jean Makoun 6. Alex Song 7. Landry N'Guemo 12. Gaetan Bong (Aboubakar, 56) 9. Samuel Eto'o 13. Eric Choupo-Moting (Idrissou, 72) SUBS

1. Carlos Kameni (GK) 4. Rigobert Song 5. Sebastien Bassong 10. Achille Emana 14. Aurelien Chedjou 15. Pierre Webo 17. Mohammadou Idrissou 21. Joel Matip 23. Vincent Aboubakar 22. Guy Rolland Ndy Assembe (GK) HOL

1. Maarten Stekelenburg 12. Khalid Boulahrouz 3. Johnny Heitinga 4. Joris Mathijsen 5. Giovanni Van Bronckhorst 7. Dirk Kuyt (Elia, 67) 6. Mark Van Bommel 8. Nigel De Jong 23. Rafael Van der Vaart (Robben, 73) 10. Wesley Sneijder 9. Robin van Persie (Huntelaar, 58)


16. Michel Vorm (GK) 2. Gregory Van Der Wiel 11. Arjen Robben 13. Andre Ooijer 14. Demy De Zeeuw 15. Edson Braafheid 17. Eljero Elia 18. Stijn Schaars 19. Ryan Babel 20. Ibrahim Afellay 21. Klaas-Jan Huntelaar 22. Sander Boschker (GK)

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?