My tribe

WORLD CUP: Forlan breaks South African hearts

The quality of Uruguay, and Diego Forlan in particular, proved too much for the host nation as South Africa were crushed 3-0, leaving their World Cup hopes hanging by a thread. South Africa: 0 Uruguay: 3

Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria Crowd: 42,658 Officials Referee: Massimo Busacca (Switzerland) Assistants: Matthias Arnet, Francesco Buragina (both Switzerland) Fourth official: Wolfgang Stark (Germany) Yellow cards:SA - Pienaar, Dikgacoi URU None -

Red cards: Khune (South Africa)

Diego Forlan scored twice and was involved in the third goal as Uruguay brushed aside the challenge of South Africa in Pretoria who had their keeper Itumeleng Khune dismissed in the second half.

The second game of the group phase gave both teams more urgency and whilst Uruguay were always in control South Africa seemed rushed and lacked the quality final ball to create many meaningful openings.

Forlan rarely gave the ball away and dictated the pace of the game. The Bafana Bafana by comparison were hurried and disappointed with their crossing and creativity.

The South Americans began brightly and deservedly opened the scoring in the 23rd minute, even if Forlan did enjoy some good fortune as his 20 yard shot deflected off Aaron Mokoena totally deceiving Khune, who remained flat-footed as the ball dipped beneath his crossbar.

Uruguay continued to press as South Africa struggled to get back into the game.

Early in the second half Uruguay looked to be denied a clear penalty as Bongani Khumalo appeared to pull down Luis Suarez, then captain Diego Lugano fluffed a free header from ten yards.

But the South American's were not to be denied and sealed the game with ten minutes remaining.

Khune brought down Suarez for a stonewall penalty with the hosts claiming offside, although television replays showed otherwise.

Forlan then had to wait six minutes for substitute keeper Moeneeb Josephs to take up his position, but the former Manchester United striker held his nerve and drove the ball high into the net.

With Bafana Bafana supporters streaming away from the Loftus Versfeld stadium, Alvaro Pereira was presented with simple header into an open goal to end a miserable night for the hosts.

Starting Line-Ups


16. Itumeleng Khune 2. Siboniso Gaxa 4. Aaron Mokoena 20. Bongani Khumalo 3. Tsepo Masilela 8. Siphiwe Tshabalala 13. Kagisho Dikgacoi 12. Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Moriri, 57) 11. Tsholofelo Modise 10. Steven Pienaar (Josephs, 79) 9. Katlego Mphela SUBS

1. Moeneeb Josephs (GK) 5. Anele Ngcongca 6. Macbeth Sibaya 7. Lance Davids 14. Matthew Booth 15. Lucas Thwala 17. Bernard Parker 18. Siyabonga Nomvethe 19. Surprise Moriri 21. Siyabonga Sangweni 23. Thanduyise Khuboni 22. Shu-Aib Walters (GK) URU

1. Nestor Fernando Muslera 16. Victorio Maxi Pereira 2. Diego Lugano 3. Diego Godin 4. Jorge Fucile ( Alvaro Fernandez , 71) 17. Egidio Arevalo Rios 15. Diego Perez (Gargano, 90) 11. Alvaro Pereira 9. Luis Suarez 10. Diego Forlan 7. Edinson Cavani (Sebastian Fernandez, 89)


12. Juan Castillo (GK) 5. Walter Gargano 6. Mauricio Victorino 8. Sebastian Eguren 13. Sebastian Abreu 18. Nacho Gonzalez 19. Andres Scotti 20. Alvaro Fernandez 21. Sebastian Fernandez 22. Martin Caceres 23. Martin Silva (GK)

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?