My tribe

WORLD CUP: Brazil turn on the style at Chile's expense

Two goals in three first half minutes set Brazil on the way to a quarter final appearance in a 3-0 demolition of fellow South American's Chile. BRA: 3 CHI: 0

Venue: Ellis Park, Johannesburg Crowd: 54,096 Officials Referee: Howard Webb (England) Assistants: Darren Cann and Michael Mullarkey (both England) Fourth official: Martin Hansson (Sweden) Yellow cards:BRA - Kaka, Ramires CHI - Vidal, Fuentes, Millar

Red cards: none MATCH REPORT Brazil made it one defeat in 30 games as their domination of Chile continued. The Samba Kings won both their World Cup qualifiers against Chile and it is now nearly ten years since La Roja tasted victory over Brazil.

Chile enjoyed good spells at the beginning of first and second halves but whilst they threatened, Brazil delivered. The first half had become a cagey affair until the Brazilians decided the game with goals in the 34th and 37th minute.

For all their silky skills the opening strike was more Stoke than Samba. A corner by Maicon was met by a thumping header from central defender Juan.

The second was classic Brazil as a quick counter attack ended with Kaka slipping a pass inside to Luis Fabiano who rounded keeper Claudio Bravo before finding the empty net.

Again Chile responded in the second period but for all their attractive approach play they lacked a cutting edge from promising positions. Robinho showed them the way on the hour as Nascimento Ramires drove forward from midfield before releasing the Manchester City star to sweep home.

Still Chile pressed for a consolation goal with Humberto Suazo and substitute Jorge Valdivia both going close but Brazil are ominously coming good at just the right moment. Starting Line-Ups


1. Soares Julio Cesar 2. Sisenando Maicon 3. Ferreira Lucio 4. Silveira Juan 6. Fernandes Michel Bastos 13. da Silva Dani Alves 8. Gilberto Silva 18. Nascimento Ramires 10. Ricardo Kaka (Kleberson, 81) 9. Clemente Luis Fabiano (Nilmar, 76) 11. De Souza Robinho (Gilberto, 85) SUBS

12. Heurelho Gomes (GK) 14. Anderson Luisao 15. Emiliano Thiago Silva 16. Da Silva Gilberto 17. Anunciado Josue 20. Jose Kleberson 21. Honorato da Silva Nilmar 22. Alexander Doni (GK) 23. Libano Batista Grafite 5. De Carvalho Felipe Melo 7. Blumer Elano 19. Cesar Julio Baptista CHI

1. Claudio Bravo 4. Mauricio Isla (Rodrigo Millar, 62) 5. Pablo Contreras (Tello, 46) 18. Gonzalo Jara 2. Ismael Fuentes 8. Arturo Vidal 6. Carlos Carmona 15. Jean Beausejour 7. Alexis Sanchez 9. Humberto Suazo 11. Mark Gonzalez (Valdivia, 46)


12. Miguel Pinto (GK) 10. Jorge Valdivia 14. Matias Fernandez 16. Fabian Orellana 19. Gonzalo Fierro 20. Rodrigo Millar 21. Rodrigo Tello 22. Esteban Paredes 23. Luis Marin (GK)

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?