My tribe

World coaches, players blank Premier League for FIFA Team of Year

Not one player from the Premier League was named in FIFA's Team of the Year last night.

It was a shocking result for English football and a huge reversal from last season when FIVE Premier League players were selected.

But for many, the Ballon d'Or has lost it's shine by joining forces with FIFA.

The award is voted for by 50,000 professional players, managers and journalists from around the globe - and for the first time they have ignored the claims of our top stars.


Casillas (Real Madrid), Maicon (Inter), Puyol (Barcelona), Lucio (Inter), Pique (Barcelona), Sneijder (Inter), Xavi (Barcelona), Iniesta (Barcelona), Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Messi (Barcelona), Villa (Barcelona).

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?