My tribe

World best snubbed Barcelona star Messi in Ballon d'Or voting

Barcelona ace Lionel Messi managed to win the Ballon d'Or, despite being snubbed by his former club teammates. Neither AC Milan striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic, as Sweden captain, nor Inter's Samuel Eto'o, as Cameroon skipper, voted for the Argentine.

Spain captain Iker Casillas, the Real Madrid goalkeeper, also blanked the Argie.

Casillas' Real teammate Cristiano Ronaldo, the Portugal captain, was another to ignore Messi.

Interestingly, if the Ballon d'Or had been decided by the approach of previous years (journalists only), the result would have been very different: the prize going to Wesley Sneijder, followed by Andres Iniesta and Xavi.

Manchester United's England captain Rio Ferdinand voted Wesley Sneijder, Andres Iniesta and Xavi.

 It's all kicking off again! Click here for the No1 coverage of Barcelona's winter market transfer news.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?