My tribe

Westfield W-League awards announced

The Westfield W-League inaugural awards were announced today in Sydney. Football Federation Australia CEO Ben Buckley was full of praise for the W-League, saying it was a fantastic opportunity for talented females in Australia.

"The Westfield W-League has proven to be a welcome initiative for talented young sports women to gain high quality competitive opportunities on a regular basis," said Buckley.

"There are almost 75,000 young girls who play football which is fantastic. For those who are keen to play sport to the highest level possible, the Westfield W-League now gives them something to aspire to along with other national sporting leagues for women such as netball and basketball.

"Importantly, for us, the Westfield W-League also gives talented women players the opportunity to shine on a national stage and stake their claim for selection to one of the three national teams for women."

The W-League awards are as follows: Player of the Year: Lana Harch (Queensland Roar) Goalkeeper of the Year: Melissa Barbieri (Melbourne Victory) Golden Boot: Leena Khamis (Sydney FC, 7 goals) Goal of the Year: Marianna Tabain (Perth Glory, Round 9)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?