West Brom striker Anelka charged by FA over 'quenelle'

West Bromwich Albion striker Nicolas Anelka has been charged by the Football Association over his controversial 'quenelle' goal celebration.

West Bromwich Albion striker Nicolas Anelka has been charged by the Football Association over his controversial 'quenelle' goal celebration.

The French striker is facing a minimum five-match ban under new FA rules after the gesture, which some say is an inverted Nazi salute and has anti-Semitic connotations.

Anelka has been charged with making an improper gesture and that it was an aggravated breach, in that it included "a reference to ethnic origin and/or race and/or religion or belief."

 
For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: facebook.com/tribalfootball

Have your say