My tribe

Wenger rues missed Ramsey penalty as Swansea deny Arsenal

Arsene Wenger feels Aaron Ramsey should have been awarded a penalty as Arsenal were held to a 2-2 draw by Swansea City in the third round of the FA Cup on Sunday.

The Welsh midfielder went down in the area under pressure from Swans defender Dwight Tiendalli when the game was scoreless during the second half but referee Howard Webb waved away the protests because he felt the Gunners man tripped over his own heels.

But Wenger thought his Arsenal team were harshly done by as Danny Graham pulled back a late goal after Lukas Podolski and Kieran Gibbs gave them the lead following Michu's 58th minute opener.

"It was a penalty and the referee saw it," he said.

"Do you know why he did not give it? Because he thought the guy had not done it on purpose, and I also think it was accidental.

"But he (Ramsey) did not trip himself, he was caught clearly by the leg of the Swansea player. The referee hesitated and he did not give it."

 Click here to reach the No1 destination for hard news and exciting gossip on Arsenal

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?