My tribe

Uruguay's Forlan wins Golden Ball award

Uruguay striker Diego Forlan has won the Golden Ball award for the best player at the 2010 World Cup.

The Atletico Madrid man was the key behind Uruguay's surprise fourth-placed finish with five goals and a string of stellar performances, beating Spain's David Villa and Holland's Wesley Sneijder to the award.

In other World Cup awards, Germany youngster Thomas Mueller took out the Golden Boot on a tie-break despite finishing equal on five goals with Forlan, Villa and Sneijder. The fact he had more assists allowed him to win the award.

Spain goalkeeper Iker Casillas won the Golden Glove award whilst Mueller also picked up the Young Player prize.

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?