My tribe

Tottenham draw Shamrock Rovers, Rubin Kazan in Europa League

Tottenham have been drawn in Group A of the 2011/12 Europa League group stage following today's draw in Monaco.

Spurs qualified after a 5-0 aggregate win over Scottish club Heart of Midlothian and will now be up against a trio of clubs desperate to do well in Europe's second tier competition.

Irish club Shamrock Rovers, the first Irish side to reach the group stages of European competition, have been drawn with Spurs alongside Russia's Rubin Kazan, who have a decent record against Barcelona in recent seasons, and Greek club PAOK Salonika.

Other English clubs in the Europa League are Stoke City, Fulham and Birmingham City who have all drawn fairly tough groups.

Stoke will take on Ukraine's Dynamo Kiev, Turkey's Besiktas and Israel's Maccabi Tel Aviv in Group E, Fulham meet Holland's FC Twente, Denmark's Odense BK and Poland's Wisla Krakow in Group K whilst Championship outfit Birmingham City are up against Portugal's Braga (who were runners-up to Porto last season), Belgium's Club Brugge and Slovenia's NK Maribor in Group H.

The matchdays are 15 September, 29 September, 20 October, 3 November, 30 November-1 December, and 14-15 December 2011.

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?