Tottenham defender Bassong: Denied Defoe goal right decision
Defoe fired in from inside the box while Pablo Contreras lay stricken on the floor clutching his leg, but the referee ruled it out for the foul on the Chilean.
Bassong told tribalfootball.com: "The referee turned to his official (linesman) who was telling him it was a foul (by Defoe on Pablo Contreras) and that's why he let the game play. Afterwards his official told him it was a foul so that's why he gave a foul (and not a goal).
"I wasn't even sure myself but the PAOK players were telling me and I thought fair enough."