Tenerife, Xerez and Real Zaragoza win Primera Liga promotion

Tenerife, Xerez and Real Zaragoza all secured promotion to the Primera Division on Saturday with one round of fixtures still remaining in the Segunda Division.

Leaders Tenerife edged Girona 1-0, while Xerez were 2-1 winners over Huesca to ensure their place in the top flight for the first time in their history.

Zaragoza's 3-1 victory over Cordoba seals their return after just one year in the Segunda Division, with fourth-placed Hercules unable to catch the top three.

The destination of the title will be decided next weekend with just one point separating the leading trio.

Have your say

Related Images