My tribe

Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar preview

Finally, the reigning champions cracked it for their first win of the season last week and will be looking to double their one-match streak when the Roar come to town tomorrow.

In the first match of an historic A-League double-header at Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney FC go into the match with confidence for the first time since Week 1 after they managed to produce a 3-0 result over Perth Glory away from home.

One win from 11 matches is not ideal but to get their first victory will take a lot of pressure off and Vitezslav Lavicka's men can perform knowing that the monkey is off the back.

But they do come up against one of the most in-form teams in the competition in Brisbane, who have taken all before them, losing just once and playing a very attractive brand under Ange Postecoglou.

Thomas Broich, Matt McKay and Erik Paartalu will pull the strings in midfield for the Roar but they need to become more efficient in front of goal if they want to put sides away. It has been a talking point which could potentially cost them matches if they continue to miss opportunities but with the amount of supply given to Reinaldo, Kosta Barbarouses and co. it is surely only going to get better from a goalscoring perspective.

Sydney may not make too many changes after finding the winning formula and even though confidence will be high, they will need to play out of their skins to defeat a Roar outfit that has travelled reasonably well this season.

Verdict: 1-1 draw

Sydney FC v Brisbane RoarDate: Saturday, 30 October 2010 VenueSydney Football Stadium, SydneyLocal kick-off: 5.15pm (AEDT) Head-to-Head: All matches (played 18): Sydney FC wins 5, Brisbane Roar wins 6 (7 draws) Referee: Peter Green

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1, FS1 HD & delayed Sky Sport 3 (NZ). Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is SBS 6 (Digital). To purchase tickets visit www.ticketek.com.au

Sydney FC squad: 1. Liam REDDY (gk), 2. Sebastian RYALL, 3. Stephan KELLER, 5. Hayden FOXE, 6. Hirofumi MORIYASU, 7. Brendan GAN, 8. Stuart MUSIALIK, 9. Bruno CAZARINE, 10. Nicky CARLE, 11. Kofi DANNING, 12. Shannon COLE, 14. Alex BROSQUE, 15. Terry MCFLYNN (c), 16. Terry ANTONIS, 19. Mark BRIDGE, 20. Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 21. Scott JAMIESON, 22. Sung-Hwan BYUN, 24. Dimitri PETRATOS *four to be omitted* In: Nil Out: Nil Unavailable: Nil

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2. Matt SMITH, 3. Luke DEVERE, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Erik PAARTALU, 7. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 8. Massimo MURDOCCA, 9. Jean Carlos SOLORZANO, 11. REINALDO, 12. Matt MUNDY, 14. Rocky VISCONTE, 15. Matt McKAY (c), 17. Mitch NICHOLS, 20. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Milan SUSAK *one to be omitted* In: Milan SUSAK (returns from hamstring injury) Out: Nil Unavailable: Shane STEFANUTTO (Hamstring - 1 week), HENRIQUE (broken arm - indefinite)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?