My tribe

Sydney FC name their 25-man ACL squad

Reigning A-League champions Sydney FC have lodged their 25-man playing list for the 2011 Asian Champions League competition.

The Sky Blues have included recent additions David Williams (on loan from North Queensland Fury) and Andrew Durante (on loan from Wellington Phoenix) as they prepare for their opening group stage bout with Korean club Suwon Bluewings at Sydney Football Stadium on Wednesday, March 2.

Finnish striker Juho Makela has been left out because of the 3+1 rule which allows three foreign and one Asian player to be included in the ACL squad.

Sydney coach Lavicka instead opted for Japanese midfielder Hiro Moriyasu, Swiss defender Stephan Keller, Northern Irishman Terry McFlynn and Brazilian striker Bruno Cazarine.

Lavicka was looking forward to a successful showing in the tournament after his players showed plenty toward the end of the A-League season.

"We are very confident heading into the Champions League. We have played well in 2011 in the A-League, we have good players here and of course we added some more players in both attack and defence," Lavicka said.

"I feel we have good balance in the squad. We have many attacking options and strikers that play in different ways. We have experience through all positions and of course youth and speed with our young players.

"We have done research on our opponents although many are in preseason and have changed their teams but we know about them. We have been researching them for a while.

"It is very exciting for me personally, the club and of course the players to be involved in this tournament. We have and are working hard to do well.

"We have added six of our Youth League players to the squad also. This will give them important experience both personally and for the club.

"We will represent Sydney FC fans, the club, ourselves and the city and try to do everyone proud."

Sydney FC squad for AFC Champions League


Liam Reddy Ivan Necevski Dylan Mitchell


Seb Ryall Stephan Keller Shannon Cole Scott JamiesonMatthew Jurman Nathan Sherlock Luke Austin Andrew Durante


Hirofumi Moriyasu Brendan Gan Stuart Musialik Nick Carle Terry McFlynn Dimitri Petratos Joel Chianese Jared Lum Rhyan Grant


Bruno Cazarine David Williams Kofi Danning Mark Bridge Blake Powell

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?