"It wasn't a penalty," said Van Zanten. "It probably wasn't even a shoulder to shoulder challenge. He [Stewart] has basically thrown himself to the ground and conned the referee."
Stewart denied he was guilty of any pre-meditated attempt to win the penalty, but did concede he may not have been fouled by Van Zanten.
"I was driving into the box and my thought was to try and get a cross in," said Stewart. "When I went down, it was completely involuntary. I haven't seen it again on the TV yet, but sometimes your legs can go when you are trying to get a cross in like that. I wasn't deliberately trying to get a penalty."