My tribe

Shortlist of ten for FIFA's goal of the year award

Lionel Messi and Arjen Robben are battling with the lesser lights of world football for FIFA's goal of the year award. The shortlist of 10 also included an astonishing effort from the Northern Ireland Premier League and two goals from the World Cup.

Kumi Yokoyama made the list when she dribbled through five opponents before slotting into the bottom corner during Japan's semi-final against North Korea at the U17 World Cup.

The two World Cup goals selected were Siphiwe Tshabalala's thumping drive for South Africa in the opening match against Mexico and Giovanni van Bronckhorst's spectacular strike for the Holland in the semi-final against Uruguay.

Messi has produced a number of contenders in the last few months but FIFA went for his La Liga goal for Barcelona against Valencia when he wriggled through the opposing defence before slipping the ball home.

"The final list has been drawn up using the following criteria: aesthetics; the importance of the match; the absence of luck or an opposition mistake as a factor making the goal possible; fair play; and the date, with only goals scored between January 1 and October 15 counting," FIFA said.

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?