My tribe

Shortlist for PFA Team of the Season released

A 33-player shortlist for the Professional Footballers Australia A-League Team of the Season has been released.

As expected, league leaders Brisbane Roar make up most of the positions with 10 players and their coach Ange Postecoglou in the running whilst Adelaide United (6) Central Coast Mariners (5) are also well-represented.

The team is selected in a 4-3-3 formation with a further 5 players nominated as substitutes. The team, as voted by A-League players, will be announced at the PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal gala dinner to be held at Melbourne's Crown Palladium next Monday 14 February.

PFA A-League Team of the Season shortlist

Goalkeepers (3):

Glen Moss (Gold Coast United), Matthew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners), Michael Theoklitos (Brisbane Roar)

Defenders (12):

Cassio (Adelaide United), Luke Devere (Brisbane Roar), Tarek Elrich (Newcastle Jets), Iain Fyfe (Adelaide United), Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar), Scott Neville (Perth Glory), Josh Rose (Central Coast Mariners), Matt Smith (Brisbane Roar), Michael Thwaite (Gold Coast United), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Newcastle Jets), Adama Traore (Gold Coast United), Patrick Zwaanswijk (Central Coast Mariners)

Midfielders (9):

Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar), Jason Culina (Gold Coast United), Marcos Flores (Adelaide United), Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory), Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mitch Nichols (Brisbane Roar), Erik Paartalu (Brisbane Roar), Kasey Wehrman (Newcastle Jets)

Strikers (9):

Kostas Barbarouses (Brisbane Roar), Robbie Fowler (Perth Glory), Paul Ifil (Wellington Phoenix ), Robbie Kruse (Melbourne Victory), Matthew Leckie (Adelaide United), Matthew Simon (Central Coast Mariners), Jean Carlos Solozano (Brisbane Roar), Sergio Van Dijk (Adelaide United), David Williams (Nth Queensland Fury)

PFA A-League Coach of the Season (4):

Graham Arnold (Central Coast Mariners), Rini Coolen (Adelaide United), Ange Postecoglou (Brisbane Roar), Franz Straka (Nth Queensland Fury)

PFA A-League Referee of the Season (3):

Matthew Breeze, Gerard Parsons, Ben Williams

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?