My tribe

Seongnam Ilhwa's Ognenovski named Asian Player of the Year

Sasa Ognenovski has been crowned the 2010 Asian Football Confederations Player of the Year.

The Seongnam Ilhwa captain was announced as the winner of the award at a gala ceremony in Kuala Lumpur last night.

The Australian centre-half capped off a stellar season which saw him lead Seongnam to the Asian Champions League title, winning the tournament MVP along the way as well as receiving his first Australian national team cap.

Ognenovski won the title ahead of fellow nominees Husain Salman Maki, of Bahrain, Iranians Farhad Majidi and Farshid Talebi and Bader Al Motawaa, of Kuwait.

Fellow Aussie Tim Cahill, South Korea captain Park Ji-sung and Japan international Keisuke Honda were unable to attend the awards ceremony, deeming them ineligible for the award, which Ognenovski conceded somewhat tarnished the prize.

"It does tarnish the award a little bit by not having them here," Ognenovski said.

"If I was not injured, I would not be here for the AFC Player of the Year award."

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?