My tribe

Ref apologises for Chelsea penalty

Referee Rob Styles has admitted he was wrong to award a penalty to Chelsea at Anfield on Sunday, and has apologised to Liverpool for his error.

Frank Lampard was able to secure a 1-1 draw for the Blues after Styles penalised Steve Finnan for bringing down Florent Malouda.

Replays showed there was no foul and, having reviewed the incident, the PGMOL (Professional Game Match Officials Limited) have decided that Styles will not officiate this weekend.

In a statement, Styles said: "All referees enter into matches hoping not to make any mistakes but understanding that they may happen, what none of us want is for any mistake to potentially affect the result of the match.

"Yesterday, in mistakenly awarding a penalty, I accept that I may have affected the result of the match and for that I apologise."

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?