My tribe

Rangers midfielder McKay named Professional Footballer of the year

Matt McKay has scooped the 2011 Male Footballer of the Year as well as the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Player of the Year awards.

The former Brisbane Roar captain, now with Scottish giants Rangers, had an outstanding season in the A-League and with the Australian national team and has been rewarded for his brilliance and consistency.

McKay received the Australian Male Player of the Year before collecting the PFA Footballer of the Year receiving 329 votes from his fellow professionals, ahead of Qantas Socceroos teammate and AZ Alkmaar attacking midfielder Brett Holman (194), Tim Cahill (185) and 2010/11 Johnny Warren Medallist, Marcos Flores (109).

In other awards, former Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory striker Robbie Kruse, now with Fortuna Dusseldorf, grabbed the PFA Harry Kewell Medal for Australia's best young player under the age of 23, beating FC Utrecht's Tommy Oar and Brisbane Roar's Kosta Barbarouses, whilst Central Coast Mariners keeper Mathew Ryan was named Football Federation Australia's Under 20 Footballer of the Year.

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?