With the inception of two other Queensland-based A-League teams for next season, Queensland Roar will change their name.

The foundation club will be known as Brisbane Roar with the official announcement to come early next month.

Due to the fact that Gold Coast United and North Queensland Fury are entering the competition, the Roar will not be representing the whole state so thought it right to downsize the amount of area they do represent by being linked with the city of Brisbane.

The club have reportedly registered Brisbane Roar as a trademark and are underway with the production of new strips and merchandise.