My tribe

Quartet of Man Utd players in PFA Team of the Year

Champions Manchester United has four players selected in the Professional Footballers' Association Team of the Year for 2012/13.

All Premier League players selected their best XI for the season with a quarter of United stars getting the nod after helping the club secure their 20th league title.

Robin van Persie, leading the league with 25 goals, was a certain selection up forward whilst goalkeeper David de Gea, defender Rio Ferdinand and midfielder Michael Carrick were all rewarded for consistent seasons.

Joining the United foursome were Everton left-back Leighton Baines, Tottenham centre-half Jan Vertonghen and Manchester City right-back Pablo Zabaleta in defence whilst Chelsea pair Eden Hazard and Juan Mata and Spurs ace Gareth Bale made up the midfield.

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez, who scored 23 goals before his season-ending suspension, was up front with van Persie.

2012/13 PFA Team of the Year


David de Gea (Manchester United)


Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City) Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United) Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham) Leighton Baines (Everton)


Eden Hazard (Chelsea) Juan Mata (Chelsea) Michael Carrick (Manchester United) Gareth Bale (Tottenham)


Robin van Persie (Manchester United) Luis Suarez (Liverpool)

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?