My tribe

Premiership dominates FIFA World Player of Year nominations

The Premiership have dominated the nominees for this year's FIFA World Player of the Year.

Defender John Terry, midfielders Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Deco, Michael Ballack, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Cesc Fabregas and strikers Fernando Torres, Didier Drogba and Emmanuel Adebayor are the English-based players on the list.

Chelsea are the best represented club on the list with five players, while the best represented league is the Premier League with 10 players.

Shortlist for FIFA World Player award:

Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo), Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Andrei Arshavin (Russia), Michael Ballack (Germany), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Iker Casillas (Spain), Deco (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Steven Gerrard (England), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Kaka (Brazil), Frank Lampard (England), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Franck Ribery (France), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), John Terry (England), Fernando Torres (Spain), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands), David Villa (Spain) and Xavi (Spain).

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?