The Premier Reserve League competition will be split into three groups instead of two divisions next season. Aston Villa, who have won the Southern League for the past three years, will be in the Southern Group with Arsenal, Chelsea, West Brom, West Ham and Wolves.

The northern clubs will be split into two groups, A and B.

The leaders of Northern A and B will face each other in a one-off tie, with the victors playing a national play-off final against the Southern winners.

SOUTHERN GROUP: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United, Wolverhampton Wanderers.

NORTHERN GROUP A: Bolton Wanderers, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Wigan Athletic.

NORTHERN GROUP B: Blackburn Rovers, Blackpool, Everton, Liverpool, Sunderland