My tribe

Premier League featured in AFC Player of the Year contenders

Saudi Arabia's Yasser Al Qahtani, the reigning AFC Player of the Year, stays in the list along with Mark Schwarzer of Australia and Yuji Nakazawa of Japan.

The winner will be announced on November 25 in Shanghai at an awards ceremony.

Sixth List of Contenders for AFC Player of the Year 2008 (in alphabetical order)

1. Ahmad Ajab (Kuwait and Al Qadsia - Kuwait)

2. Ala'a Hubail (Bahrain and Kuwait SC - Kuwait)

3. Ali Al Habsi (Oman and Bolton Wanderers - England)

4. Ebrahim Sadeghi (Iran and Saipa - Iran)

5. Hong Yong-jo (DPR Korea and FK Bezanija - Serbia)

6. Ismael Matar (UAE and Al Wahda - UAE)

7. Odil Ahmedov (Uzbekistan and Pakhtakor - Uzbekistan)

8. Mark Schwarzer (Australia and Fulham - England)

9. Rashid Saleem (Bahrain and Al Najma - Bahrain)

10. Server Djeparov (Uzbekistan and Kuruvchi - Uzbekistan)

11. Yasser Al Qahtani (Saudi Arabia and Al Hilal - Saudi Arabia)

12. Yuji Nakazawa (Japan and Yokohama F Marinos - Japan)

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?