Manchester United's Michael Carrick is on a shortlist of six for the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award. Gareth Bale, Robin van Persie, Luis Suarez, Eden Hazard and Juan Mata are also nominated.

Bale and Hazard are also up for the Young Player of the Year award, along with Christian Benteke, Romelu Lukaku, Danny Welbeck and Jack Wilshere.

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the award, first won by Norman Hunter of Leeds United. The winner will be announced on 28 April.

Players are not allowed for vote for anyone at their own club.