My tribe

PFA Scotland Player of the Year nominees announced

This season's nominees for the Professional Footballers' Association of Scotland awards were announced last night in Glasgow. For the PFA Scotland Player of the Year, Celtic pair Gary Hooper and Emilio Izaguirre will be up against Rangers' forward Steven Naismith and Kilmarnock midfielder Alexei Eremenko.

Hooper has been a scoring machine for the Hoops with 15 goals in the league whilst Honduran left-back Izaguirre is enjoying a brilliant debut season in the SPL.

Naismith's consistency and ability to provide for his teammates, with eight goals and four assists, has seen him in the short-list whilst Eremenko, on loan from Ukraine's Metalist Kharkiv, has been brilliant as an attacking midfielder for Killie with four goals and seven assists so far.

The nominees for the Young Player of the Year were also announced with Hooper doubling up for this award alongside Dundee United striker David Goodwillie, Aberdeen young gun Chris Maguire and Heart of Midlothian winger David Templeton.

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?