My tribe

PFA Premier League Team of the Year named

The PFA have named their Premier League Team of the Year for 2008/09.

Six Manchester United players, two Liverpool and one each from Chelsea, Aston Villa and Portsmouth comprise the eleven which was named by the PFA at the annual gala which also saw Man Utd's Ryan Giggs named Player of the Year and Aston Villa's Ashley Young awarded the Young Player of the Year.

The following is the PFA Team of the Year:


Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United)


Glen Johnson (Portsmouth) Patrice Evra (Manchester United) Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United) Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)


Steven Gerrard (Liverpool) Ryan Giggs (Manchester United) Ashley Young (Aston Villa) Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)


Fernando Torres (Liverpool) Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?