My tribe

Owen, Shearer and Vieira amongst inductees into English Hall of Fame

Nine new football legends are to receive one of the highest honours in football- an induction into the English Hall of Fame at the National Football Museum, reports Arsenal and Manchester City legend Patrick Vieira, Liverpool and Manchester United star Michael Owen, Northern Ireland hero Jimmy Mcilroy, former England captain Alan Shearer, Birmingham City striker Trevor Francis, Chelsea and Manchester United star Ray 'Butch' Wilkins, Matt Dimbylow (Captain of the England Cerebral Palsy team), women's football pioneer Sylvia Gore MBE, and Scotland, Newcastle and Chelsea goalscoring phenomenon of the 1920s and 30s Hughie Gallacher will all be inducted into the Hall of Fame at a prestigious award ceremony on October 16th

Two special awards will also be made - the first, to mark the 1914 WW1 centenary, will go to The Football Battalion, a group of professional footballers and fans who fought in the Battle of the Somme; the second will go to the 1880s squad known as the Preston North End Invincibles, who 125 years ago this month were the first team to win the world's first Football League competition, remaining unbeaten all season.

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Ian Ferris
About the author

Ian Ferris

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?