The A-League will be a 10-team competition by the end of 2009 with the likely addition of a North Queensland team who received a provisional admission today.

The club will be based in Townsville and the Football Federation Australia is expected to announce the North Queensland Football Club on a preliminary conditional licence.

North Queensland will join Gold Coast United as the latest entries into the expanding A-League as the growing demand for football in Queensland becomes clearly evident.

By the beginning of the 2009/2010 season, the Sunshine state will have three teams competing in the A-League, the most of any other state or territory in the land.