My tribe

Nominees announced for Golden Foot 2011 career award

The nominees for the 2011 Golden Foot have been released.

In a ceremony headlined by last year's winner Francesco Totti, the AS Roma captain, the following candidates were announced:

David Beckham (LA Galaxy, England), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, Italy), Iker Casillas (Real Madrid, Spain), Didier Drogba (Chelsea, Ivory Coast), Samuel Eto'o (Inter Milan, Cameroon), Ryan Giggs (Manchester United, Wales), Carles Puyol (Barcelona, Spain), Raúl González Blanco (Real Madrid, Spain), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona, Spain), Javier Zanetti (Inter Milan, Argentina).

The Golden Foot is a career award restricted to players 29 years of age and older.

The international prize is given every year to the game's greatest in the Principality of Monaco under the High Patronage of H.S.H. Prince Albert II and promoted by World Champions Club and the Tourism Office of Monaco.

The names have been chosen by the Golden Foot jury, composed of 58 journalists representing sports media all over the world.

The winner will be chosen by a vote of football fans.

The winning star will leave his footprints on THE CHAMPIONS PROMENADE, a football 'Walk of Fame'.

You can vote by visiting goldenfoot.com until October 7.

The award ceremony will be hosted on October 10 in Monte Carlo.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?