My tribe

Newcastle boss Pardew fumes: Cisse double were legit goals

Newcastle United boss Alan Pardew is convinced they were robbed of victory after their 0-0 draw against Metalist Kharkiv in the first-leg of their Europa League tie.

Papiss Cisse twice had goals ruled out for offside, with replays suggesting at least the first should have stood.

"Both goals are onside," Pardew said.

"Fundamentally they (the officials) have got them wrong, in a tight game like that.

"In these games they are the margins. I can understand if they get it wrong once but twice is hard to take.

"The law says it should favour the striker. Both decisions were level - I wouldn't even say that they needed to favour the striker. It's hard to take."

Pardew revealed he had been prevented from speaking to the officials after the match.

"The observer has told me that the protocol is not to speak to the referee after the game," he said. "Perhaps they should review that. But let me tell you I'm not here to get in to trouble."

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?