My tribe

Necevski clinches Sydney FC award

Ivan Necevski has been named the Sydney FC Player of the Year for the 2011/12 A-League season.

The 32-year old goalkeeper appeared in just nine matches for the Sky Blues during the season but was crowned as the best player for the campaign in which the club made it through to the first week of the finals.

Necevski's win was made possible by his teammates, who vote on the award, and allows him to join Alex Brosque (three-time winner), Clint Bolton and Robbie Middleby on the Sydney honour roll.

Other award winners on the night included Nick Carle who took out the fans award, Terry McFlynn who was awarded best clubman and Bruno Cazarine who received the Golden Boot as leading scorer.

2011/12 Sydney FC awards

Hyundai A-League Players Player of the Year - Ivan Necevski Vitezslav Lavicka Clubman of the Year Award - Terry McFlynnHyundai A-League Golden Boot - Bruno Cazarine Hyundai A-League Fans Player of the Year - Nick Carle National Youth League Player of the Year - Hagi GligorWestfield W-League Player of the Year - Teresa Polias

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?