Emanuel Pogatetz has apologised to Manchester United's Rodrigo Possebon about the challenge that resulted in the Middlesbrough captain being sent off during Tuesday's Carling Cup tie. Pogatetz told the club's official web site: "Firstly, I have to say that I went for the tackle because I thought I could win the ball. I now accept, however, that I misjudged the challenge.
"Immediately after the incident, I did not think it was a red card offence because I did win the ball. But now that I have had the chance to see the tackle on TV, I know the ref was right to send me off."
And the Austrian international revealed he had contacted Possebon to apologise.
"I am going to speak to Rodrigo by telephone and I have apologised for hurting him," said Pogatetz. "I hope that he will make a quick recovery and that he will not be out for long."