My tribe

Man Utd name Champions League squad, include Fletcher

Manchester United have announced their preliminary 25-man squad for this season's Champions League campaign.

Sir Alex Ferguson has included midfielder Darren Fletcher in the roster despite the Scotland international battling a chronic bowel condition.

United have lodged a squad of 33 players total which includes eight 'B-List' players alongside the first-choice list of 25.

United have been drawn alongside Turkish club Galatasaray, Portuguese outfit Sporting Braga and Romanians CFR Cluj in Group H with their first fixture against the Turks on September 19.

Manchester United squad for 2012/13 Champions League - *Denotes B-List


David De Gea Anders Lindegaard Sam Johnstone*


Rafael Patrice Evra Phil Jones Rio Ferdinand Jonny Evans Chris Smalling Nemanja Vidic Alexander Buttner Marnick Vermijl* Michael Keane*


Antonio Valencia Anderson Ryan Giggs Michael Carrick Nani Ashley Young Paul Scholes Tom Cleverley Darren Fletcher Nick Powell Larnell Cole* Jesse Lingard* Ryan Tunnicliffe*


Wayne Rooney Javier HernandezDanny WelbeckRobin van PersieShinji KagawaFederico Macheda* Joshua King*

 Click here to reach the No1 destination for hard news and exciting gossip on Manchester United

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?