My tribe

Man Utd boss Ferguson named Premier League's greatest ever manager

Manchester United have earned a Premier League double.

Sir Alex Ferguson was named the best manager in the competition's 20-year history and Ryan Giggs won the best player award at a ceremony in central London.

Ferguson was not in London and chief executive David Gill picked up the award on his behalf.

Giggs did receive his award, which was given to him after he beat off competition from the likes of Thierry Henry, Paul Scholes and Dennis Bergkamp to clinch the vote from a panel of experts.

Team of the last 20 seasons:

Peter Schmeichel, Gary Neville, Tony Adams, Rio Ferdinand, Ashley Cole, Cristiano Ronaldo, Paul Scholes, Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Thierry Henry, Alan Shearer

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?