My tribe

Man City apply to join Women's Super League but Man Utd decline

Manchester City, Sunderland, Aston Villa, Leeds United and Watford have all applied to be part of an expanded FA Women's Super League in 2014, reports BBC Sport. The league will jump from one tier of eight teams to two tiers of 20 as part of plans to boost the game in England.

Clubs have until Monday to apply, but BBC Sport understands at least 28 are expected to submit applications.

Manchester United, who do not have a women's team, have no plans to bid, while Tottenham and QPR have opted out.

The eight-strong WSL has been going since 2011, with Arsenal winning the title on both occasions.

About the author

Dave Williams

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?