"It is instinctive but I would have liked to see him, as a sportsman, say: 'I did knock it in with my hand.' The reaction of all the players is obvious. It's for the officials to see. If the fourth official can see it on the halfway line and yet the referee's assistant can't, you'd question that," said KK.
Former Reds midfielder Didi Hamann also said: "The goal should not have stood but to accuse him of cheating is outrageous; he is two yards off the keeper and his hand is already up. Why should he have told the ref? I've never heard anybody saying a defender should tell the ref he handled when preventing a chance."
John Barnes also said: "I would not accuse him of being a cheat. It was an instinctive reaction. We've seen this happen in midfield - you're not going to say: 'I've handballed it.' It should have been a free-kick and maybe a yellow."