Hansen wrote in the Telegraph: "What exactly was Suárez supposed to do? Run to the referee and tell him it hit his hand? His team-mates would go berserk, and his manager would not be too impressed either.
"The first thing to make clear is Liverpool’s second goal in the third round cup tie was not a deliberate handball.
"There is no way Suárez has moved his arm to control it. If anything, it looks as if he is trying to move his hand away when it has hit him.
"The speed it was travelling, it simply ricocheted forward and struck him at angle which, unfortunately, the officials could not see.
"He did exactly what anyone who has ever played professional football — and anyone who plays in the future — would do in the same situation."