Suarez is at the centre of yet another cheat storm, after his handball cost minnows Mansfield their FA Cup dream.
"If he has to tell the referee that he handled, do the defenders have to go and tell the ref every time they foul a striker? It's laughable, it really is," Fowler told the Mirror.
"Seriously, Suarez did nothing wrong, and I'm amazed at the reaction. I honestly don't even believe he handled deliberately. The ball is smashed right at his hand from very close range, and he'd need some reactions to have calculated that one.
"You can see by the way his arm bounces above his shoulder after the ball hits him that he isn't braced for it. That tells you something. I think the way he then knocked the ball in the net he assumed it would be ruled out, but if there's any criticism, it should be at the referee, not the player."