My tribe

Levein delighted to see SPL awards go to Scots

Scotland national team manager Craig Levein was thrilled to attend a Professional Footballers' Association awards night where the award winners were actually Scottish.

Celtic pair Charlie Mulgrew and James Forrest took out the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year respectively on Sunday night which delighted Scotland boss Levein.

"Both Charlie and James are huge bonuses to me," Levein said.

"I've gone to a lot of PFA dinners over the years when the awards haven't been given to Scotsmen.

"Now we've got two and for me that's a huge thing for the national team and Celtic. For two players to be put forward who've been voted for by their peers is great and they take enormous credit for that as do the players themselves."

Mulgrew became just the fourth Scotsmen in the past decade to win the award, joining Barry Ferguson (Rangers 2002/03), Shaun Maloney (Celtic 2005-06) and Scott Brown (Celtic 2008-09). Other winners during that time include Chris Sutton (English), Fernando Ricksen (Dutch) and John Hartson (Welsh, joint winners), Shunsuke Nakamura (Japanese), Aiden McGeady (Republic of Ireland), Steven Davis (Northern Ireland) and Emilio Izaguirre (Honduran).

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?