My tribe

Laudrup rues missed penalty call in Swansea's draw with West Ham

Michael Laudrup felt his Swansea City side were aggrieved after their 0-0 draw with West Ham United on Sunday.

The Swans were denied what Laudrup believes to be a clear penalty late in the scoreless outing at the Liberty Stadium when Hammers substitute Joe Cole made contact with his arm in the area.

Laudrup was slightly critical of referee Phil Dowd and his team of assistants for missing the spot kick but was full of praise for visiting keeper Jussi Jaaskelainen for his match-winning performance.

"I think we deserved more, but on the other hand Jaaskelainen had made two or three fantastic saves, so you can't do anything about that," he said.

"There was a lot of emotion in the end which was about the penalty which was not given.

"I know I always say that a referee or a linesman only has one second, but I mean it is so clear when you have your arm up like that.

"If you have your arm down you can talk about hand to ball or ball to hand, but when you have your arm up there and it hits you, normally nine out of 10 times it is a penalty.

"Of course when you have a case like this in the 91st minute, there are a lot of emotions.

"But we know that the relationship between Swansea and penalties is not the best, even if we got one last weekend against Sunderland after 50-something (56) games.

"Not to be funny, but maybe the fans and everybody here should buy a t-shirt to say that 'I was there when Swansea got a penalty'."

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?