My tribe

LA Galaxy's Arena scoops MLS Coach of the Year prize

Bruce Arena has been named the 2011 MLS Coach of the Year, becoming the first coach to win the award on three occasions.

Arena guided La Galaxy to the Supporters' Shield as well as the MLS Cup Final which will be played against Houston Dynamo on November 20.

Arena adds the 2011 award to his 1997 and 2009 prizes which came in seasons when he led DC United to the Supporters' Shield/MLS Cup double and the Galaxy to the Supporters' Shield and runners-up in the final.

The 2011 season saw the Galaxy achieved the second-best record (19-5-10, 67 points) in League history. He won the award ahead of Seattle Sounders' Sigi Schmid, Sporting Kansas City's Peter Vermes and Philadelphia Union's Peter Nowak.

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?